Gone

The gods have gone. They’ve left this planet without me – it’s the only explanation. Even kinsmit, god of love, has vanished from this earth.

In the early days, I searched every house for another living soul, but I haven’t checked any in months.  The bodies began to get to me; they looked so peaceful that each day became a battle I felt I would lose. I wanted to join them, of course, but hope stood in the way. My hope is waning now though, as is my sanity. We’re – or rather, “I’m” (I must get used to the singular) – a sociable crowd, us humans; apocalypses don’t bode well for our kind.

And then I heard it: a voice calling on the wind. I rushed towards it, trying to find its source, its middle, its end… any clue to locate it! but the voice was fading so I rushed back the way I came and saw… a human.

I should have known it was not so, for the alley was a dead end, just like this situation. Just like my life.

I stopped and he stopped a few yards ahead of me. He needed a good shave and his eyes were a little manic, but besides that, he looked fine. Beggars can’t be choosers, after all. He must have thought the same, for we both began running towards each other at once. As I raced closer, I realised he looked familiar but –

THUNK

– realised too late that he was me and I was he. I ran headlong into a mirror and was propelled backwards just as the mirror was propelled forwards. With horror and no way of changing my fate, I watched as it fell towards me. My head hit the cement and the mirror hit my head and before I knew it, the planet had lost its final inhabitant.

I took my last breath and lay there, still as death, awaiting my fate. Awaiting the gods to take me away – to heaven or hell I did not care; so long as the place was inhabited.

But all the waiting amounted to nothing, for I simply lay there, watching as nature sunk its claws into the world around me. Creepers wrapped around the mirror, hiding my reflection from me (much to my relief) but revealing flowers when the season was right. That is, until creatures took away my eyes and I could see no more. Dead and unable to move, but still waiting. In limbo.

Leave a comment