Prompt: Write a story that consists only of monosyllabic words.

We walked down to the edge of the world – went there to take in the sights. But all that lay in front of us was dark and too true. We clung as one as we stood and asked why they jumped off the ledge. I had thought we would see a new world – one which was far more bright than Earth. But no – no such luck.

But there were eyes in the void. They stared right at us. They were as big as our heads, all round and green. They had flecks, the likes of which I had not seen on Earth. The flecks were dark. They swirled. We did not think when we stepped past the edge. We were drawn to the eyes, their odd stare – half dead, they looked.

And there we still are. We float in the void with the folk who fell for the eyes too. We try to swim through the air to the eyes but they still seem as far off as when we first came here. Soon the whole of Earth’s folk will be here, I am sure. We try to warn those on the edge but the eyes get to them all.

 


 

Orphan Black is fast becoming my favourite programme again. After a (relatively) crappy season, it seems like it’s back on track!

Hello 100th post 🙂

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

3 thoughts on “Prompt: Write a story that consists only of monosyllabic words.”

Leave a Reply

