Prompt: Write a horror story in exactly twelve sentences.

Note: this isn’t really a horror story, I guess. I was thinking more along the lines of The Picture of Dorian Gray. Still, I enjoyed writing it.

I saw my reflection one day staring back at me and thought that was a horror in itself. Where once I would practise kissing myself in the mirror or wink at myself as I walked passed, I have now begun to avoid my reflection like the plague. For I can see death in my every move and in my every rasping breath even though I am 23. You see, a wise man approached me on the sixth day of the new moon. He said that it was a particularly auspicious time: that I would soon gain what I sought. “But know this, young man: what you seek will come at a price.” Shrugging him off as a foolish man, I went about my day, yet I stumbled on fame, the likes of which I would never have achieved without some divine intervention. Someone offered me the world and who was I to refuse? But it did indeed come at a price, and I realised the wise man was not foolish as I had thought, for I aged a year for every fifteen minutes of fame I received. So I watched as I grew older and decided that this simply would not do; that I wanted to live forever like the Shakespeares and Picassos of this world. So here I am, immortalising myself. I would say goodbye, but I’m only just coming alive.

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

3 thoughts on “Prompt: Write a horror story in exactly twelve sentences.”

  1. You’ve got some great prompts happening here! I’m inspired to try a few! I really enjoy this idea of being restricted to only 12 sentences; seems like a fun challenge. Loving this concept of time speeding up in proportion to fame/success here. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 I found them on http://www.reddit.com/r/writingprompts – there are loads there if you ever need inspiration. I’m answering one per day to make sure I keep honing my skills! There was also another constrained one I answered – “write a love story in five sentences” if you’re interested in that too. I look forward to seeing more of your writing too 🙂

      1. Ah…, well they’re very interesting prompts.Yes, i saw that one! I’d like to try most of these prompts to be honest. It’s a great idea to do that every day. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

