The Adventures of Amazeboy

“Yes, we’re interrupting our normal broadcast because today, we’re joined by none other than Amazeboy himself! Amazeboy, how did you find out you had superpowers?”
“It was just a few days ago, actually. I was walking home with my friend from work and he rushed out into the road without checking for traffic. I saw a car coming towards him. Everything just happened at once, really…”
“So what did you do?”
“Well… time seemed to slow down and I just… grabbed him. We were in the middle of the road at that point, and the car was still rushing toward us, so I jumped and we ended up flying about ten feet off the ground. Once the car drove past, I focused on the ground and we floated back down.”
“Before we continue chatting, Amazeboy, I must warn all our viewers at home that this is a very special case, so please don’t throw yourself in front of a car just to see if you have superpowers!”
“Hahaha no, that would be silly!”
“So Amazeboy, what do you think you’ll do with your powers now?”
“Oh, you know – save everyone who needs saving. I mean –“

“I can’t believe you said all that bullshit.”
“You don’t understand, Tom. There are so many people staring at you – so many lights trained on your face. Besides, I used to want to save the world.”
“Ha. What happened, Amazeboy?”
“I don’t know. Life. Laziness.”
“It’s never too late.”
“Yeah.”
“Hey – pass me a beer, will you?”
“Wha- oh right. Watch out, here it comes.” Amazeboy jerked his fingers. A can of beer flew from the cooler across the room. It landed on the table in front of Tom.
“Duuude. That never gets old.”

2 thoughts on “The Adventures of Amazeboy

Leave a Reply

