“Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.”

This was created by Wu Lei, an artist from folkculture on eBay.

I am now the proud owner of this beautiful piece of art! It was really serendipitous the way I found it; having had enough of Etsy’s extortionate prices, I simply typed in “Art” on eBay and this was fifteen minutes away from the end of its bidding war. So I bid in the last fifteen seconds and here we are.

I swear, though, while I’m watching the time count down on an eBay auction, the fight or flight instinct kicks in and my heart begins to race like crazy.

14 thoughts on ““Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.”

  1. Beautiful!

    Makes me feel happy just gazing upon it.
    I would have bought this piece as well, Great find!
    It’s funny sometimes how easily we can acquire unique works of art and other times it can be an endless journey to retrieve that one special piece we crave.

    1. Thank you! Same here; something clicked when I saw it and I knew I had to purchase it. Folkculture have other, similar paintings if you’re interested – all reasonably priced too (no, I don’t work for them surprisingly :P)
      You’re right. And I think that endless journey for a special piece of art makes you cherish it all the more.

      1. I totally am, is that their name on eBay? I shall go have a look tonight for sure, I actually have been searching for a few pieces for my apartment But around here their just isn’t a whole lot to choose from.

      2. Yes, I linked their eBay shop just under this post’s picture. 🙂 Good luck! You can also ask them if they can custom-paint something for you too which is a nice touch. Thank goodness for the internet, right? 😛

      3. Indeed! I would be lost without my online shopping, I have grown addicted to it even HaHa.

        Thanks, I will certainly check out everything they have.

        I actually have been looking for someone to create a painting of my brother, It would be the best Christmas present for my mom this year. (Planning ahead) =p

        I had no clue where to begin looking though, so I am so glad I saw your post. Thanks for taking the time to explain the artist for me and what they offer!

      4. Exactly!
        No problem, that sounds like a great gift. Let me know how the painting looks if you end up buying from them. Good luck! 🙂

  2. This is a brilliant piece of artwork for sure. I love the bright colours how they are so different but match all at the same time. I love the ground that looks like a mirror effect. In fact, it’s the sort of thing I could look at for hours, it truly is beautiful. I’d love to have this in my front room in an extra large size to fit the whole wall. Nice choice.

    1. It is, isn’t it? It’s so vibrant. It makes me feel truly alive just looking at it. Depending on my mood, I look at the painting and see different things: when I’m angry, the couple are watching the world erupt into flames; sometimes they’re just walking into the sunset. Art can be such a powerful thing.

Leave a Reply

