We’re already cyborgs and we don’t even know it yet.

If Einstein believed this sixty years ago, what would he say now? This photograph belongs to Toban B
If Einstein believed this sixty years ago, what would he say now? This photograph belongs to Toban B

I know this is far-flung from my usual blog posts, but the thought hit me last night and I couldn’t help but voice (or rather, type) them.

After a quick Google search, cyborgs are defined as “A fictional or hypothetical person whose physical abilities become superhuman by mechanical elements built into the body.”

I don’t know about you, but my eyesight depends almost solely on a piece of soft plastic that I place onto my eyeball every day/whenever I want to venture outside. And because of this, my sight has altered over time: that tiny, circular piece of material has actually affected the way my body works – and the way my brain is able to perceive the world – hence why we need eye check-ups every year or so. Similarly, individuals who have lost limbs in accidents are able to buy prosthetics, or – if one of your teeth fall out – you’re able to purchase a false tooth to help chew your food.

All around us, technology is aiding the way we live, yet the idea of “cyborgs” usually only ever appears in science fiction novels. But it made me wonder: perhaps these sci-fi stories are based upon humankind’s past – as Martin Amis said, the past is “all there is to write about.” If we are to believe Wikipedia, “Around 700BC, Etruscans in northern Italy made dentures out of human or other animal teeth.” So we’ve always seeked help from external tools whenever we find that our own physical body is somewhat lacking… but we’ve never truly named ourselves “cyborgs” or “partially human” (besides Kevin Warwick); we instead say that this will be a part of our future.

In addition to this, the fact that we are able to carry around hundreds or thousands of people in our smart phone, or else communicate with people in different countries at the click of a button… I think that’s pretty superhuman; I almost feel like Flash from the DC comics. And without even thinking about it, our minds are changing because of this: we don’t need to remember information as much as we used to, because Google is always with us; a lot of individuals are so used to the fast-paced, super-speedy-broadband, or else easy to digest, bite-sized information that they’re reading less novels, for example.

But anyway, I’m treading on the toes of my extended project dissertation (the title was “is the internet altering our brains and the way we think?”), so I’ll stop typing now. This post was just a half-baked thought; normal service will resume tomorrow! *salutes*

I’m amazed if you read this far; thank you. Yes, you. 🙂

15 thoughts on “We’re already cyborgs and we don’t even know it yet.

  1. I read to the bottom. You’re welcome. And the cyborg thing is closely tied into all of the supernatural–I think humans always want to be ‘enhanced’ whether it’s through surgery, a vampire bite, or mechanical/fake parts. I’m trying to be ‘enhanced’ by doing P90X. Same thing–live forever and be awesome.

    1. Haha, thank you. I apologise for the rambling. I agree… I guess it all derives from the need to strive for perfection.
      The P90X sounds strenuous! How’s it going?

  2. Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know
    a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its
    a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both
    show the same results.

Leave a Reply

