4. Dark

I feel like this picture truly captures the despair of war. This piece of art belongs to rafa2010
I feel like this picture truly captures the despair of war. This piece of art belongs to rafa2010

She sat huddled in a corner of the room, hands wrapped around her legs as she rocked back and forth. “… over twenty thousand deaths in the last week alone.” She attempted to keep her spirits high, but once she had listened to the news story, all the energy had been sapped from her body so that all she could do was slowly drink herself to a silent stupor.

He’s probably had to stay there to control the situation, she decided as she reached for the bottle of wine to refill her already empty glass, and hasn’t had time to let me know. Yes. That’s it. She placed the bottle down and raised the overflowing beaker to her lips. Wine sloshed down her blouse, but she did not appear to notice.

“Any second now, I’ll hear his key turning in the lock and this horrid darkness will end.” Just as she murmured those words to herself, there came an urgent rap on the front door. With that, she crumpled sadly, for she knew he would have used his key.

“Ma’am?”

She burst into tears and unsteadily rose to her feet.

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

4 thoughts on “4. Dark”

Leave a Reply

