3. Light

This photograph belongs to jmgphoto
This photograph belongs to jmgphoto

The birds were singing a symphony outside my window, but my eyes remained clasped shut against the world. Sure, a new day had dawned but it was still the same life I had to face. I rolled over and decided to snooze for five more minutes.

***

Wings beat maniacally against my window. Though my eyes felt glued together with sleep, I forced them open in confusion.

The sun’s rays scintillated against my bedspread and I could not help but smile sleepily. I threw the duvet from my body and stood before the window, arms wide with ecstasy. A flock of birds hovered just beyond the glass as if they wished to embrace me, wings outstretched as they chirped with joy. No wonder they’re called early birds; the view of a sleeping city on a Sunday morning caused me to grab my keys and rush outside into nature.

The light consumed me and I did not mind.

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

9 thoughts on “3. Light”

      1. I’m 50/50 on that. I know once he gets to that age, he won’t be the easily tickled shadow that I have following me around the house. I gotta take the bad with the good.

      2. That’s true. Judging from my relatives’ children, toddlers are when children are at their sweetest too – they can have a conversation with you, yet still have that childish innocence about them.

      3. Yeah. Their only level of talking back is to say ‘no’, but they’re still portable enough to carry to where they need to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

