Destination Alone – Destination Unknown Part 4

Though tears cloud my eyes, casting dirty black lines through my fur, I must continue moving quickly for fear of being caught by that dreadful Human. I become aware of my shoulder blades protruding sharply from my back and immediately wish I could dig them into His stomach, just as He did to you. I have never been particularly vengeful before. But then, He has taken away my family…

I walk until Night holds me close to its bosom before finally stopping to rest for the night. Lying down in the tall, yellowing grass, dandelions tickle my nose until I sneeze loudly. I wonder what your reaction would have been to that. No doubt you’d roll onto your back, kicking your hind legs in my direction until I was covered in the damned things. Instead, I rest my head on my front paws glumly, readying myself for a lifetime of solitude.

***

My dreams are haunted by you, my love. The last precious minutes of your life play continually in my mind until I am sure they have been contorted. For an unrecorded amount of time, I believe you are still with me; still wrapped around my body as we slumber peacefully. You are no doubt kicking my back as you dream about us hunting together.

But then my eyes open. Though my vision is bleary and my mind weary, I know. I raise my head, feel the cold midnight wind ruffle my fur. You would usually protect me from such weather.

I know.

***

I awake after a fitful sleep, my heart filled with regret. Your dance with death had been fatal and I merely stood flaccidly and watched. I cannot bear to think about your lifeless body. My mind continually returns to it nonetheless.

I am thirsty and though I wish to join you, I cannot. I find a nearby creek surrounded by naked trees. But that does not prevent a group of mistle thrush perching atop the natural wooden structures from staring down at me as they cry their jubilant morning song.

It is a bitter day without you, so I jump from rock to rock, winding my way towards the water. Eventually reaching it, I crouch down to lap up the much-needed beverage. Once I’ve finished, flecks of water pepper my whiskers so I groom myself until you would be proud of my glossy fur.

I sit upon the hard stone and look through the trees at the surrounding landscape. My breath catches in my throat as I watch the sun rise, streaks of pinks and purples and reds dashing across the horizon blindingly.

I feel your presence.

I smile.

Like this post? Read more here:

Part One
Part Two
Part Three

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

3 thoughts on “Destination Alone – Destination Unknown Part 4”

Leave a Reply

