Primitive States – Destination Unknown Part 3

He howls in rage and pain, clutching His left leg and hopping wildly around. Though it is impossible to understand what He is saying in His low, venomous voice, we know He is cursing His own God as He raises His eyes to the ceiling of the world. Expecting you to run away in that moment, I spring out from the dirt, prancing in the overgrown undergrowth. But instead, you merely stare at Him, eyes glimmering in delight. What you are thinking is beyond my impugnant intelligence, but I can only guess that it is the closest to euphoria you had ever been. To hurt such a seemingly omnipotent creature is astonishing to say the least. Perhaps you are frozen with the power coursing from your pointed ears to your paws. Regardless, I expel a short yowl, my tail whipping back and forth. Your trance breaks and you cast a groggy glance in my direction. My front paws hop impatiently towards the large expanse of greenery behind us; the stretch which is free from any unwelcome imposters of this Earth. You appear more lucid as you patter towards me, eyes happy and alert.

But we had forgotten the reason for our hold up. Our senses had not been focused in the correct direction. So ensconced in the moment, we underestimated His willpower; His recovery time.

There was a loud crack! as a bullet came rushing through the air towards us. Alarmed, we both scarper to a line of bushes for cover, then continue running until His grunts and footsteps cannot be heard by either of us. We stare back, sniffing the air in our attempt to discover His location. But my gaze falls upon the grass before us. A trail of blood had been left behind in our wake. Glancing down at my paws, I see nothing. The world appears to slow as I turn towards you. I can almost feel my heart pounding in my eyes as if they were ready to escape from my body at any moment.

My world stops.

Blood flows freely from your injury. There is already a dark red pool beneath your feet, threatening to engulf you whole. Already, your wound is crusty with dried blood. I don’t know how long we’ve been running or if that has in some way caused you to bleed more ferociously but I push these thoughts from my mind.

Nudging you with my nose to lie down upon the soil unblemished by your blood, I begin licking the opening in your side.

It’s no use. I continue licking for several minutes, by which time you stare up at me as if I’m from another world, eyes drooping as sleep attempts to take you forever.

Let it be, your eyes say. It’s time.

I whine softly. It can’t be, my love. Our adventures aren’t over yet. Hang on. I’ll give you my very own flesh and blood if necessary.

For the first time in my life, I wish I was human. Regardless of how horrible the species is, I wish I was one. Just so that I could transfer my excess of blood to you before it’s too late.

Before it’s too late.

Your eyes close.

I weep.

Like this post? Read more here:

Part One
Part Two
Part Four

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

5 thoughts on “Primitive States – Destination Unknown Part 3”

  1. Your writing is beautiful. I’ve just flicked through over half your posts and cannot wait to read more.
    Thankyou for sharing.

Leave a Reply

