Creation and Decay – Part Five

The rabbit gestured for Eve to continue into the unknown.

Taking a deep breath, Eve braced herself for an even longer journey than she had just partaken in. She slowly passed through the cave’s entrance. As she did so, she couldn’t help but expel the air trapped in her snout as she took in her surroundings. She had expected a struggle once she had entered the marble fortress as her eyes took their time to adjust to the darkness which would no doubt encompass her. Instead, she was met by a large amount of bright natural light being reflected by the moon’s steady glow. Eve continued to the middle of the cavern. She stopped, unsure of what to do or say.

“Welcome, Eve. I am thankful to finally receive your visit. I have heard much about you.” A sourceless voice filled the cave easily, bouncing off the smooth walls just as the moon’s reflection.

“Thank you for soughting me out when I needed you most. I presume you are aware of our dilemma?”

“Indeed I am, my child. But before we begin to unravel all those problems of yours, I must tell you a few things. Come, ask your brothers and sisters to take a pew beside you and I shall begin.”

***

Once all were settled and the initial astonishment upon entering the Devil’s home had diminished, He began.

“You could say that though we are motherless, God and I are twins. We were created at exactly the same moment. I do believe that I came into existence seconds before Him, but He believes the opposite. But I digress. The important thing to remember is that whilst one of us exists, so too does the other one and vice versa. Every force has an equal and opposite force. Everything good in this world creates an equally bad being or object. However, because we are not all two dimensional, flattened characters, the lines of these boundaries are blurred: oftentimes, without truly realising it, we act antonymously to our presupposed character. I’ll take your own situation as an example. God is believed to be a benevolent, omniscient and omnipotent being. He proved to you the latter two by almost immediately knowing of your eating from the Forbidden Tree and being able to throw you from the garden’s walls with no repurcussions whatsoever. But as to how benevolent He was whilst dealing with you is another qustion: He knew you would suffer greatly beyond those cast iron gates of His, yet quite happily threw you from the safety,” the Devil’s emphasis on this word told the wolves of how loosely he used the term, “of his carressing hands. And now you have found me and it appears as though I am attempting to help you, when I should, in fact, be killing you upon sight.

“All you Adams and Eves (and no doubt the newest additions who are currently residing in the Garden of Eden) have been taught that God is Perfection. But this is simply not the case. For if it were, it would certainly mean that, upon attempting to create the perfect couple of human beings, he would have succeeded immediately. And I myself am not perfect either. A few minutes ago, I said we were like twins. I’ve often wondered this: if we could bear to stand longer than an hour or so in the vicinity of each other and if we collaborated together, agreeing on an issue we both wished to eradicate, we would undoubtedly succeed…”

The Devil sighed and appeared to be lost in his own thoughts for a while before realising that his obedient audience were all sitting perfectly still, waiting for him to continue.

“Anyhow. Onto more pressing matters. Eve, your strength of will is obviously great on the deliberation of how to murder God.”

At this point, Eve leaned forward, careful not to miss a word the Devil uttered.

“Alas, I cannot help you with this. By killing Him, you would kill me and I certainly do not wish for that. However, I can offer you something else which I believe you want even more than God’s instant demise…”

With His cryptic words, Eve cocked her head as an offering for Him to continue. He merely uttered two syllables, but her eyes began glittering with unequivocal childish joy.

“Adam.”

 

Like this post? Read more here:

Part One
Part Two
Part Three
Part Four
Epilogue

5 thoughts on “Creation and Decay – Part Five

Leave a Reply

