And my heart cannot be kindled without you

I have stared at this page one too many times: constantly needing to offload my mind from the tangents it goes off on, yet not knowing quite where to begin. This predicament will be the death of me one day; my mind buzzes with thought forms, yet those blurry outlines never quite grow into sentient beings – instead, they are stuck as viscous shadows, heavy as a semibreve rest and unable to dislodge themselves from the comfortable spot in front of the television.

My heart yearns for something which I cannot quite place my finger on; which direction it will eventually choose, I have no idea, but I know that regardless, it’s going to be a rocky ride. Even now, just thinking about these fraudulent feelings causes my brow to furrow as my heart gives a delightful pang.

But one thing is certain: the soundtrack.

I have found that song which, whilst listening, can allow me to escape to a different climate with a culture incongruous to what I know of now, its whereabouts blurred but alluring. That song which, whilst listening, makes me forget about the laptop speakers, instead voicing a language which seems to emanate from my very core.

I guess that is one of the few assured aspects of my life – apart from the obvious – and for once, I am comfortable with a future shrouded in mystery.

Leave a Reply

