I hate being proven right.

I am sure that simply by looking at someone, you can tell what they are feeling in their heart. Whether this is through body language; karmic energy, or something else, I have no clue, but call it what you may – I am sure it is present in us all. I know one should not ‘judge a book by its cover,’ so to speak, but do you ever get chilling vibes off certain individuals, or else warm, exuberant vibes off others within the first five seconds of meeting them? Today, for some reason, I have looked hard at the people flashing in and out of my horizons, and, within a split second, have found the harshness in their manner, followed by that warm, ‘safe’ ground of their character.

And I have found some surprises.

I was on the bus from college, watching everyone traipse in and out of the doors, giving indifferent ‘thank yous’ to the driver as they passed, when I locked eyes with a sturdy, middle aged man. My first reaction was to think, ‘please don’t sit next to me,’ because of the toughness he exuded from the clothes he was wearing; the way he held himself, and that sheer, elegant confidence which no one is able to describe. After a few milliseconds, something clicked. Something clicked and I realised that there was a seed yearning to flower and bud into something beautiful: beneath that indulently resilient exterior of his, there was a happy place in his heart (be it with his five year old daughter, or else with food, for example) – somewhere he went when he was feeling low so as to cheer him up; photos he looked at of past experiences and happenings which he had spent with loved ones. He felt love and compassion, just like any other person on the street.

Such a simple thought, yet I am sure I am not the only one who overlooks it in the street, especially when certain individuals have particularly overbearing characters.

Realising this made me smile, so I thought I would share it with you; changing one life at a time – smile by smile.

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

2 thoughts on “I hate being proven right.”

  1. I agree that we all possess a “sense” of knowing another. The more you hone that sense the quicker you will gain understanding. Thanks for your thoughts, be well

    1. Sorry for not replying earlier – I have been inundated with school work, so have just been posting the odd blog whenever I can!
      How do you propose that we hone our sense?
      Thank you for your reply, you too 🙂
      Warmest regards,
      Jasmine

Leave a Reply

