Just a Coincidence or Something More…?

I guess one will never find out…

I was on the bus today, meditating, as I always do on the rare occasion that there are few people on the bus and it is more than likely that I will not get disturbed. We stopped off at a bus stop and a few passengers got on, so, as usual, I looked up, but this time, saw someone running to catch the bus. As soon as I saw this figure, I thought, ‘He’s going to talk to me.’ Nothing else, just that. Then afterwards, my other, more rational voice argued, But how do you know that!? Stop being so silly!’ I didn’t think about it again, though I was vaguely aware that he came and sat behind me. So I continued meditating…

What seemed like a few minutes later, this man said softly, ‘Excuse me?’ Then again, more loudly this time, ‘Excuse me?’ to which I replied to him by turning in my seat and giving him a questioning look. He then asked for the directions to a place a few miles away from where we were, so, because it was common knowledge to me, I told him the directions, said I’d let him know when he had to get off, smiled at him, and turned back in my seat. He then commented on the snow, so we continued to talk for the duration of the journey, until I told him he had to get off, reiterated my instructions and sent him on his merry way.

The question I put to you is, was this simply a coincidence, or was it something beyond our knowledge, something which happens in the invisible world that we don’t know about? Of course, it could have been related to ‘The Secret’ – the idea that the Law of Attraction governs all; what comes around, goes around, so to speak. This relates to being able to imagine something through the astuteness of our minds. This is a perfectly logical explanation, yet does it link to my experience being a coincidence or something else? Probably this ‘something else’ which everyone seems to harp on about… yet what is the ‘something else?’ Is it the work of something on a higher plane, or else our minds, our engine, that motor which keeps us going? My dad once likened us to cars (something I must admit I was rather displeased about, for the taking over of robots and machines from mankind is apparently imminent), saying that, ‘our bodies are our vehicle, yet our mind is our engine’ – the part of us which keeps us going; keeps us alert and alive, thus the most powerful source of energy we have. Which would mean that it is, in fact, our minds which bring about these ‘coincidences.’ But is this true? How will we ever find out? Is this one of the things we learn after life? Or will it always be what this post of neverending questions makes me believe: unanswerable? Is it one of those questions we’ll never know the answer to?

Another thought: if my situation was ‘something else,’ is it because I was meditating moments before, thus I perhaps became more spiritually aware, as well as more in tune with the world surrounding me? Does this mean that once the art of meditation has been succeeded, we are so evolved and in tune spiritually, that these ‘coincidences’ become a regular occurrence? Plain and simple: things like this intrigue me.

To rephrase the first line of this post, I guess one day we may know, or it could simply stay one of life’s many mysteries…

Leave a Reply

