The Unknown

Death: definition by the Free Online Dictionary
n.
1. The act of dying; termination of life.
2. The state of being dead.
3. The cause of dying: Drugs were the death of him.
4. A manner of dying: a heroine’s death.
5. often Death A personification of the destroyer of life, usually represented as a skeleton holding a scythe.
6.
a. Bloodshed; murder.
b. Execution.
7. Law Civil death.
8. The termination or extinction of something: the death of imperialism.

I know this is a pretty morbid first-real-blog to start on, but death is literally the only definitive thing in our life, isn’t it? (Though my Philosophy classes beg to differ, for is this really life? It may well be the afterlife, and when we die, that could be our real life!) Anyway, lately there has been a lot of events which have caused this trail of thought, so I thought the best thing to do would be to portray my feelings in a productive manner: by writing!

I was sat on the bus, contemplating a variety of stupid things, when it hit me:

Is it our fears which reflect our feelings for death!?

I know this probably sounds stupid, but hear me out:
I have a friend – let’s call her friend ‘A’ – who has numerous fears, from arachnophobia to autophobia. She once made a list of these disturbances, and I counted at least twenty. This friend is extremely conscious of death and everything that comes with it – what happens after our life on earth (are we reincarnated, or is it simply what it says on the can, what the first definition on a well known website states: Termination. The End. Fin. Gone. As easy as a play could finish, our life is simply ousted out – a quick cessation of any pain or happiness in our course of life).
After that ramble, let’s move on to friend ‘B,’ a man who I look up to in many ways, probably because of the air of innate calm which surrounds him – many people have actually said to me that when they’re in his presense, they are overcome with feelings of such strong serenity they forget all about housework, so when he does eventually leave, they ‘snap out of it,’ so to speak; falling back to earth (and back to life, to reference the first spiel I thought this blog would be about!) with a thud, shaking their head, dusting themselves down and getting back to work. Nothing phases him (apart from the odd rat!). Even if I were to put him in an enclosed space with a variety of creepy crawlies, in one fluid move, he’d just make a hole for them to let them out, whilst whiling away his time by meditating, or else snoozing. Not once have I heard him talk about death as a negative, and I’ve grown up around him; in his presense basically every day.

Which brings me to the conclusion, which is probably more of a question than anything else: when we’ve reached the crux of near enlightenment, and we’re on – hopefully – the verge of finishing the endless cycle of rebirth, do we become more in tune with nature? That is to say, do things affect us less as we understand more about the world? Omraam Mikhael Aivanhov, a man who is said to hold a huge amount of spiritual power, once said that, ‘[to be] “advanced,” is to go further than abating anger (or any harsh feelings, for that matter); one must not even feel the blow.’ I interpreted this as the idea that even if a fellow human being of yours were to hit out at you whilst one was in deep meditation, you would not even be affected by it: you had gone past simply stopping yourself from hitting back. Does this mean that as we get more and more spiritually aware, we become numb, so to speak, to the menial barriers which we face throughout our day to day lives?

Author: Jasmine

Hi, my name's Jasmine, I'm 25 and I live in London. This blog is simply to note down my current thoughts - got any opinions on what I write about (or if you simply want to drop me a line), comment me :)!

Leave a Reply

