1. Birth

This photograph belongs to John-Morgan.

This photograph belongs to John-Morgan.

It was cold, so cold: I wished to go Home but had no way of voicing my opinion. Worried noises were loud in my sensitive ears – what was all the fuss about? I felt a senior citizen’s strong hand slap against my raw skin and could not help uttering a startled cry. A sigh of relief was heard and – snip! – my final bond between body and Home were extinguished.

I was distraught.

If I cried hard enough, would they sew the cord back to my stomach? Though my shrieks continued, I was merely transferred from one human to another. Coos of delight shrouded me in a heavy blanket; suffocated me with their joy (for I felt the exact opposite as they)… But what was that? Through the din, I distinguished a voice nearby that was familiar to me: gentle female tones that reminded me of warmth and safety.

My cries abated and I reclined happily against a warm body. In hindsight, I wish I could have chirped and smiled, but I was still unaware of such actions even existing, so instead, I contented myself with simply not crying; they seemed pleased enough with that.

What does the world have in store for me? After my first experience of Earth, I am full of trepidation yet eager to explore. Maybe later, though: fatigue washes over me. I have travelled so far; further than ever before. My limbs slacken and I fall into a content slumber.

I’ve decided to take part in the “100 Theme Challenge” so as to practice writing more frequently than I currently do. Are you doing the same or something similar? If so, how are you finding it? :)

I also might be absent for a week or so because of an influx in university work… ouch!

Leave a Reply

